V. SARGASSIC.

Limits—Northern, lat. 35° N.
Southern, lat. 0°.
Eastern, long. 10° W.
Western, long. 50° W.

It includes the greater part of the Sargasso Sea, Madeira and the Canary Islands, the Cape Verde Islands, Sierra Leone, and the adjacent coast of Africa.

VI. SOUTH ATLANTIC.

Limits—Northern, lat. 0°.

Southern, lat. 50° S.

Eastern, long. 10° E.

Western, long. 60° W.

It includes the eastern coast of South America, and the islands of Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.

VII. CAPE OF GOOD HOPE.

Limits—Northern, lat. 30° S.
Southern, lat. 50° S.
Eastern, long. 40° E.
Western, long. 10° E.

It includes the Cape of Good Hope and Marion Island.

VIII. KERGUELEN.

Limits—Northern, lat. 40° S. Southern, lat. 60° S. Eastern, long. 90° E. Western, long. 40° E.

It includes Kerguelen Island and Heard Island.

IX. ANTARCTIC.

Limits—Northern, lat. 60° S. Southern, lat. 67° S. Eastern, long. 100° E. Western, long. 70° E.

No land is included in this Region. The most southern point attained by the track of the Challenger lies in it.

X. AUSTRALIAN.

Limits—Northern, lat. 20° S.
Southern, lat. 60° S.
Eastern, long. 170° W.
Western, long. 90° E.

It includes Southern Australia, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Kermadec Islands, Tongatabu, and New Caledonia.

XI. EAST INDIAN.

Limits—Northern, lat. 30° N.
Southern, lat. 20° S.
Eastern, long. 170° W.
Western, long. 90° E.

It includes the northern coast of Australia, the Philippine and other islands of the East Indian Archipelago, the Solomon Islands, Caroline Islands, New Hebrides, and Fiji.

XII. JAPANESE.

Limits—Northern, lat. 50° N.
Southern, lat. 30° N.
Eastern, long. 160° E.
Western, long. 130° E.

It includes Japan and the adjacent coast of Northern Asia.